what is vegan

Is hydrogenated ditallow amine vegan?

Hydrogenated ditallow amine is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydrogenated ditallow amine?

Hydrogenated ditallow amine is a fatty substance commonly used in the food industry as an emulsifier and anti-foaming agent. It is derived from animal fats and is typically composed of a mixture of saturated and unsaturated fatty acids. Due to its unique chemical properties, hydrogenated ditallow amine can improve the texture and stability of food products such as margarine, baked goods, and processed cheese. While it is generally considered safe for consumption, some studies suggest that excessive intake of hydrogenated ditallow amine may increase the risk of heart disease and other health issues.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydrogenated ditallow amine?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy