what is vegan

Is hydrogenáted palm kernél oil vegan?

Hydrogenáted palm kernél oil is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydrogenáted palm kernél oil?

Hydrogenated palm kernel oil is a type of vegetable oil that has undergone a process called hydrogenation, which involves adding hydrogen to the oil in order to increase its stability and shelf life. This oil is derived from the kernel of the palm fruit and is commonly used in the food industry for frying, baking, and as an ingredient in snack foods such as chips and crackers. Despite being a saturated fat, hydrogenated palm kernel oil is favored by manufacturers for its smooth texture, high melting point, and affordability. However, it has been linked to health concerns such as increasing levels of bad cholesterol, inflammation, and heart disease if consumed in excess.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydrogenáted palm kernél oil?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy