what is vegan

Is hydrolyzed casein vegan?

Hydrolyzed casein is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydrolyzed casein?

Hydrolyzed casein is a protein-rich ingredient obtained by breaking down casein, a milk protein, into smaller peptides through a process called hydrolysis. This process involves using enzymes or acid to break the peptide bonds between amino acids, resulting in a mixture of short peptides and free amino acids. Hydrolyzed casein is commonly used in food manufacturing as a source of amino acids, a flavor enhancer, and as a functional ingredient due to its ability to improve the texture, stability, and solubility of food products. It is also a popular ingredient in sports nutrition products, as it is quickly absorbed by the body and can help support muscle growth and repair.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydrolyzed casein?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy