what is vegan

Is hydroxy-propyl methylcellulose vegan?

Hydroxy-propyl methylcellulose is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydroxy-propyl methylcellulose?

Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC) is a versatile food ingredient that functions as an emulsifier, thickener, and stabilizer. This cellulose-based polymer is derived from plant fibers and is commonly used in processed foods, such as baked goods, sauces, and beverages. HPMC can help improve the texture and mouthfeel of food products, enhance their shelf life, and prevent them from separating or settling. It is also known for its ability to retain moisture and improve fat replacement in low-fat or fat-free products. HPMC is a safe and non-toxic ingredient with no reported adverse effects on human health.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydroxy-propyl methylcellulose?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy