what is vegan

Is jerez vegan?

Jerez is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is jerez?

Jerez is a type of fortified wine that originated in the southern region of Spain, near the city of Jerez de la Frontera. It is made by blending different varieties of grapes, then aging the resulting wine in oak barrels, which gives it a distinctive nutty flavor and deep amber color. Jerez is a versatile ingredient that can be used in a wide range of dishes, from savory stews and sauces to sweet desserts. It's often used to add depth and complexity to dishes, and can also be enjoyed on its own as an aperitif or after-dinner drink. Its complex flavor profile makes it a favorite among foodies and wine enthusiasts alike.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like jerez?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy