what is vegan

Is juoksute vegan?

Juoksute is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is juoksute?

Juoksute, also known as rennet, is a key ingredient in the production of cheese. It is an enzyme that is extracted from the stomach lining of young ruminant animals, such as cows, sheep, and goats. When added to milk, juoksute helps to coagulate the milk proteins, causing the formation of curds and whey. The curds are then separated from the whey and pressed into cheese. Juoksute can be found in both traditional and modern cheese-making methods and is essential for creating a variety of different cheese types, including cheddar, gouda, and parmesan. Without juoksute, the production of many beloved cheeses would not be possible.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like juoksute?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy