what is vegan

Is kefir culture vegan?

Kefir culture is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? ­čĹç

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

ÔÇö Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ­čśü"

ÔÇö Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

ÔÇö D├│ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is kefir culture?

Kefir culture is a symbiotic blend of bacteria and yeasts that are used to ferment milk or non-dairy milk alternatives to create the tangy, probiotic-rich drink known as kefir. This culture contains a variety of beneficial microorganisms that help to break down lactose and enhance nutrient absorption, making kefir a great choice for those with lactose intolerance. In addition to its digestive benefits, kefir culture has also been shown to have immune-boosting properties and may help to lower inflammation in the body. With its tangy flavor and numerous health benefits, kefir culture is a popular ingredient for those seeking to improve their gut health.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like kefir culture?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ­čÖî
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy