what is vegan

Is l-cisteina vegan?

L-cisteina is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is l-cisteina?

L-cysteine is a non-essential amino acid that plays a crucial role in protein synthesis and is found in many food sources, including poultry, eggs, and dairy products. It is commonly used in the food industry as a dough conditioner and flavor enhancer due to its ability to break down disulfide bonds in proteins, resulting in a softer texture and improved flavor. Additionally, L-cysteine is known for its antioxidant properties and ability to boost the immune system. This versatile ingredient is a popular addition to many foods, including bread, crackers, and pastries, and is also used in dietary supplements.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like l-cisteina?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy