what is vegan

Is la amande amère vegan?

La amande amère is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is la amande amère?

La amande amère, or bitter almond in English, is a type of almond that is known for its intense, slightly bitter flavor. It is commonly used in baking and cooking, particularly in French and Mediterranean cuisine, to add a unique and complex flavor to dishes. Despite its name, bitter almond is not actually a nut, but rather a seed of a fruit similar to a peach or apricot. In addition to its culinary uses, bitter almond oil is sometimes used in perfumes and aromatherapy due to its strong, pleasant scent. However, it is important to note that bitter almonds contain a small amount of cyanide, so they should only be used in moderation and never consumed raw.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like la amande amère?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy