what is vegan

Is la gomme arabique vegan?

La gomme arabique is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ­čĹç

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

ÔÇö Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ­čśü"

ÔÇö Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

ÔÇö D├│ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is la gomme arabique?

La gomme arabique, also known as acacia gum, is a natural plant exudate obtained from the stem and branches of the Acacia tree species. It has been used for centuries in various applications, including food, beverages, pharmaceuticals, and cosmetics. La gomme arabique is a soluble fiber that acts as an emulsifier, stabilizer, thickener, and texture enhancer. In the food industry, it is commonly used in soft drinks, candies, and baked goods to improve texture and shelf life. Additionally, recent research suggests that la gomme arabique may have potential health benefits, such as reducing inflammation and lowering cholesterol levels.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like la gomme arabique?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ­čÖî
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy