what is vegan

Is la lécithine vegan?

La lécithine is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is la lécithine?

Lecithin is a naturally occurring fatty substance found in animal and plant tissues, commonly used as an emulsifier in the food industry. It is a mixture of phospholipids that can be extracted from soybeans, eggs, sunflower seeds, and other sources. Lecithin helps to bind ingredients together that would otherwise separate, creating smooth and creamy textures in food products such as chocolate, baked goods, and salad dressings. It also has potential health benefits, such as improving cholesterol levels and supporting brain function. Lecithin is a versatile ingredient that adds both functional and nutritional value to a wide range of food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like la lécithine?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy