what is vegan

Is laminaire vegan?

Laminaire is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is laminaire?

Laminaria is a type of brown seaweed that is popular in Asian cuisine and is known for its umami flavor and nutritional benefits. Also called "kombu," this ingredient is rich in iodine, iron, calcium, and other minerals, making it a healthy addition to dishes. It is often used to make dashi, a Japanese stock used as a base for soups, sauces, and stews. Laminaria is also used to add flavor to rice dishes, stir-fries, and salads. Its unique texture and flavor make it a favorite among chefs who appreciate its versatility and health benefits.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like laminaire?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy