what is vegan

Is lion's mane vegan?

Lion's mane is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is lion's mane?

Lion's mane, also known as Hericium erinaceus, is a mushroom with a distinctive appearance and a long history of use in traditional medicine. It is native to Asia, Europe, and North America and is characterized by its shaggy, white spines that resemble a lion's mane. This unique culinary ingredient has a delicate, seafood-like flavor and a texture similar to crab or lobster meat. Lion's mane is a good source of antioxidants, polysaccharides, and beta-glucans, which have been shown to have immune-boosting properties and may help improve cognitive function. It can be enjoyed fresh or dried and is a popular ingredient in soups, stir-fries, and vegetarian dishes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like lion's mane?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy