what is vegan

Is maize fiber vegan?

Maize fiber is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is maize fiber?

Maize fiber, also known as corn fiber, is a versatile and highly nutritious ingredient that is derived from the outer layer of maize kernels. This non-digestible plant material is an excellent source of dietary fiber, which plays a crucial role in maintaining digestive health and preventing various chronic diseases. Maize fiber is low in calories, high in insoluble fiber, and has a mild flavor and a light texture, making it an ideal ingredient for adding bulk and nutrition to a wide range of food products. From baked goods to cereals, snacks, and beverages, maize fiber is an essential ingredient that enhances both the nutritional value and sensory appeal of many popular foods.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like maize fiber?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy