what is vegan

Is maize maltodextrin vegan?

Maize maltodextrin is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is maize maltodextrin?

Maize maltodextrin is a highly versatile and functional food ingredient derived from corn starch. It is produced by breaking down the starch molecules through a hydrolysis process, resulting in a water-soluble white powder with a neutral taste. With its ability to enhance texture, viscosity, and mouthfeel, maize maltodextrin is commonly used in a variety of food applications, including beverages, confectionery, and processed foods. Its low sweetness and high solubility make it an ideal bulking agent and carrier for flavors, colors, and other ingredients. Furthermore, maize maltodextrin is easy to digest and has a low glycemic index, making it suitable for a wide range of dietary needs.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like maize maltodextrin?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy