what is vegan

Is wheat maltodextrin vegan?

Wheat maltodextrin is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is wheat maltodextrin?

Wheat maltodextrin is a carbohydrate derived from wheat starch. It is commonly used in food products as a thickener, stabilizer, and bulking agent due to its ability to absorb water and create a gel-like texture. Unlike regular maltodextrin, wheat maltodextrin is gluten-free, making it suitable for those with gluten intolerances or allergies. It can be found in a variety of processed foods such as desserts, soups, sauces, and powdered drink mixes. Its neutral flavor profile allows it to blend seamlessly into any recipe without altering the taste. Additionally, it is easy to digest and provides a quick source of energy.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like wheat maltodextrin?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy