what is vegan

Is malto di grano vegan?

Malto di grano is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is malto di grano?

Malto di grano is an Italian term that refers to malted wheat. This ingredient is created by germinating wheat grains and then drying them out, which produces enzymes that break down the starches in the grain into sugars. Malto di grano is commonly used in brewing and baking as a natural sweetener and flavor enhancer. It adds a nutty and slightly caramelized taste to baked goods like bread, biscuits, and cookies. Additionally, this ingredient can be added to drinks as a source of carbohydrates for athletes who need quick energy during exercise. Overall, malto di grano is a versatile and nutritious ingredient that adds depth of flavor to a variety of recipes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like malto di grano?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy