what is vegan

Is modified cornflour vegan?

Modified cornflour is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is modified cornflour?

Modified cornflour is a versatile food ingredient that is widely used in the food industry. It is derived from corn and undergoes a process of physical, enzymatic or chemical modification to enhance its functional properties. This modification process alters the starch structure of the cornflour, making it more stable and resistant to heat, acid, and shear. Modified cornflour acts as a thickener, stabilizer, emulsifier, and binder in a wide range of food applications, such as sauces, soups, gravies, baked goods, and snacks. It improves texture, viscosity, and shelf-life of the final product, while also reducing processing time and cost.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like modified cornflour?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy