what is vegan

Is modified cornstàrch vegan?

Modified cornstàrch is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is modified cornstàrch?

Modified cornstarch is a popular food ingredient that is derived from the endosperm of corn kernels. It is made through a process that alters the physical and chemical properties of cornstarch, resulting in a more stable and versatile product. Modified cornstarch is commonly used as a thickening agent, stabilizer, and binder in a variety of food products, including sauces, dressings, soups, and baked goods. It offers several benefits such as improved texture, shelf-life, and freeze-thaw stability. Additionally, modified cornstarch is gluten-free, making it suitable for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like modified cornstàrch?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy