what is vegan

Is modified maize starch vegan?

Modified maize starch is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is modified maize starch?

Modified maize starch is a common food ingredient that is derived from corn. It is made by treating regular maize starch with various chemicals and enzymes, which alter its properties and improve its functionality in food applications. Modified maize starch is widely used as a thickening agent, stabilizer, and emulsifier in a variety of processed foods such as soups, sauces, and baked goods. It provides better texture, consistency, and shelf-life to these products. Modified maize starch is gluten-free and has a neutral taste, making it a popular choice for food manufacturers looking to enhance their products without compromising on taste or quality.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like modified maize starch?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy