what is vegan

Is nardoo vegan?

Nardoo is a small, edible seed that has been a staple food for indigenous Australian people for thousands of years. The seeds are derived from the aquatic fern Marsilea drummondii and were traditionally harvested by gathering mature plant stems and drying them in the sun before pounding off the tiny, hard seeds. With a nutty flavor and high nutrient content, nardoo can be eaten raw or cooked and was often used to make a type of bread or porridge. Today, nardoo is still enjoyed by some Indigenous groups and is gaining popularity as a unique and sustainable food source.

Nardoo is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like nardoo?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy