what is vegan

Is natural anise flavor vegan?

Natural anise flavor is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is natural anise flavor?

Natural anise flavor is a popular ingredient in the food industry known for its distinct licorice-like taste and aroma. It is derived from the anise plant, which is native to the Mediterranean region and parts of Southwest Asia. Anise flavor is commonly used in baked goods, such as cookies and cakes, as well as in alcoholic beverages like absinthe and ouzo. Its sweet and aromatic notes also make it a popular addition to savory dishes, such as soups, stews, and sauces. Natural anise flavor is often used in place of artificial flavors, as it is a more natural and authentic option.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like natural anise flavor?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy