what is vegan

Is octyl palmitate vegan?

Octyl palmitate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is octyl palmitate?

Octyl palmitate is a versatile food ingredient commonly used as an emollient, moisturizer, and thickening agent in cosmetics and personal care products. It is a clear, odorless, and colorless ester derived from octyl alcohol and palmitic acid. With its ability to enhance the texture and consistency of food products, octyl palmitate is also used as a food additive. It is commonly found in salad dressings, baked goods, and frozen desserts, providing a smooth, creamy texture. Octyl palmitate is known for its non-greasy, silky feel, making it an ideal ingredient for products that require a lightweight and smooth texture.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like octyl palmitate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy