what is vegan

Is ogbono vegan?

Ogbono is a popular West African ingredient known for its unique flavor and slimy texture. Also called "Apon" in some regions, it's derived from the seeds of the wild mango tree, ground to a fine powder. Ogbono powder is often used as a thickener in soups and stews, and it adds a nutty, earthy taste to dishes. It's also high in protein, fiber, and essential nutrients such as calcium and iron. The seed's oil content makes it a valuable source of healthy fats, perfect for keto or paleo diets. Ogbono is widely loved for its versatility and deep cultural significance in Nigerian and Cameroonian cuisines.

Ogbono is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ogbono?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy