what is vegan

Is pectina citrica vegan?

Pectina citrica is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is pectina citrica?

Pectina citrica, also known as citric pectin, is a type of soluble fiber derived from citrus fruits. This natural thickener is commonly used in the food industry for its ability to create gels, stabilize emulsions, and improve texture. Pectina citrica is a popular ingredient in jams, jellies, and fruit preserves due to its ability to enhance the fruit's natural flavor and create a smooth texture. It is also used in the production of low-fat and reduced-sugar products as it can replace some of the fat and sugar content while maintaining the desired consistency. Additionally, pectina citrica has potential health benefits such as lowering cholesterol levels and aiding in digestion.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like pectina citrica?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy