what is vegan

Is phosphate de tricalcium vegan?

Phosphate de tricalcium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is phosphate de tricalcium?

Phosphate de tricalcium, also known as tricalcium phosphate, is a naturally occurring mineral that is commonly used as a food additive. It is a white, odorless powder with a slightly chalky taste and is commonly found in dairy products, baked goods, and cereal products. As a food ingredient, phosphate de tricalcium is used as a calcium supplement and as a leavening agent to improve texture and increase volume in baked goods. It is also used to stabilize emulsions and improve the texture of processed cheese. Because it is a source of calcium, it is often used in products targeted at consumers who are looking to increase their calcium intake.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like phosphate de tricalcium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy