what is vegan

Is phytic acid vegan?

Phytic acid is a naturally occurring compound found in seeds, nuts, grains, and legumes. It is also known as inositol hexaphosphate and is often referred to as an "anti-nutrient" due to its ability to bind to minerals such as calcium, zinc, and iron, reducing their absorption in the body. However, phytic acid also has some potential health benefits, such as acting as an antioxidant and reducing the risk of certain chronic diseases. To reduce the negative effects of phytic acid, soaking, sprouting, or fermenting these foods can help break it down and increase mineral absorption.

Phytic acid is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? đŸ‘‡

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like phytic acid?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app đŸ™Œ

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy