what is vegan

Is propylene glycol monostearate vegan?

Propylene glycol monostearate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is propylene glycol monostearate?

Propylene glycol monostearate (PGMS) is a food ingredient that is commonly used as an emulsifier, stabilizer, and thickening agent. It is made from a combination of propylene glycol and stearic acid, which is derived from animal or vegetable fats. PGMS helps to mix oil-based ingredients with water-based ingredients, preventing separation and creating a smooth and consistent texture in food products such as ice cream, whipped cream, and baked goods. It is also used as a surfactant in personal care products like shampoos and lotions. While generally regarded as safe by regulatory agencies, some individuals may be sensitive to PGMS and experience allergic reactions.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like propylene glycol monostearate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy