what is vegan

Is propylene glycol alginate vegan?

Propylene glycol alginate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is propylene glycol alginate?

Propylene glycol alginate (PGA) is a water-soluble derivative of alginic acid, commonly used as a thickening agent and stabilizer in various food products. It is a natural compound derived from brown seaweed and has a neutral taste and odor. PGA is known for its ability to create a smooth texture in foods and is often used in salad dressings, dairy products, and baked goods. It is also used as an emulsifier, preventing oil and water from separating in products like ice cream and mayonnaise. In addition, PGA is used in the production of alcoholic beverages to improve foam stability and mouthfeel.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like propylene glycol alginate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy