what is vegan

Is propylene glycol myristate vegan?

Propylene glycol myristate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? ๐Ÿ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

โ€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ๐Ÿ˜"

โ€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

โ€” Dรณra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is propylene glycol myristate?

Propylene glycol myristate is a food ingredient commonly used as a food additive and emulsifier. It is a type of ester made by reacting propylene glycol and myristic acid, a fatty acid found in coconut oil and palm kernel oil. It is a colorless, odorless, and tasteless liquid that is soluble in water and oils. Propylene glycol myristate is often added to baked goods, processed foods, and dairy products to improve their texture, stability, and mouthfeel. It can also be used as a carrier for other ingredients, such as flavors and colors.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like propylene glycol myristate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ๐Ÿ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy