what is vegan

Is rind vegan?

Rind is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is rind?

Rind is the tough, outer layer of certain foods, such as cheese or citrus fruits. It forms a protective barrier that helps keep the food fresh and prevents spoilage. In cheese, the rind can be edible or not, depending on the type of cheese. Some cheeses, like brie or camembert, have a soft, bloomy rind that adds flavor and texture to the cheese. Citrus rinds are often used as a flavoring agent in cooking or baking and can be candied or zested for added taste. The use of rind in food preparation can add complexity and depth to dishes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like rind?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy