what is vegan

Is rouge cochenille a vegan?

Rouge cochenille a is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is rouge cochenille a?

Rouge cochenille A is a natural food colorant derived from the dried bodies of female insects. These insects, known as Dactylopius coccus, are found in the warm regions of South America and Mexico. The color produced by rouge cochenille A is a bright red shade that is commonly used to enhance the color of a variety of food products, including beverages, candies, and baked goods. It is a popular alternative to synthetic food dyes because it is natural, non-toxic, and does not contain any harmful additives. Rouge cochenille A is also known for its stability, which makes it an ideal choice for food products that require a long shelf life.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like rouge cochenille a?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy