what is vegan

Is carmin de cochenille vegan?

Carmin de cochenille is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is carmin de cochenille?

Carmin de cochenille is a natural red pigment extracted from the dried bodies of female cochineal insects. These insects are native to Central and South America and have been used for their dyeing properties for centuries. The carminic acid found in the bodies of these insects is responsible for the bright red color that is extracted through a process involving boiling, crushing, and filtering. Widely used in food and cosmetics, carmin de cochenille is a popular alternative to synthetic dyes. Its versatility and natural origins make it a sought-after ingredient in many industries.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carmin de cochenille?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy