what is vegan

Is cochenille e120 vegan?

Cochenille e120 is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is cochenille e120?

Cochenille E120 is a food colorant that imparts a vibrant red hue to various types of food and beverages. It is derived from the crushed bodies of a female insect called Dactylopius coccus, which is native to South America. Historical records indicate that this ingredient has been in use for centuries due to its effectiveness at producing a durable and intense red color. However, it is not suitable for vegans or those who wish to avoid animal-derived products as it is obtained from insects. Despite this, Cochenille E120 remains a popular choice in the food industry for creating visually appealing and appetizing products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like cochenille e120?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy