what is vegan

Is sahne vegan?

Sahne is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sahne?

Sahne is a rich, creamy dairy product commonly used in German and Austrian cuisine. It's similar to heavy cream, but with a higher fat content, typically around 30%. Sahne is made by separating the cream from fresh milk, then pasteurizing it to prolong shelf life. It has a smooth, velvety texture and a sweet, slightly nutty flavor that makes it a versatile ingredient in both sweet and savory dishes. From classic desserts like whipped cream-topped cakes and mousse to indulgent soups, sauces and stews, sahne adds a luxurious touch to any recipe.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sahne?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy