what is vegan

Is salmo salar vegan?

Salmo salar is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is salmo salar?

Salmo salar, commonly known as Atlantic salmon, is a prized food ingredient that is native to the northern Atlantic Ocean and its surrounding rivers. This species of fish has a distinctive flavor profile that is rich, buttery, and slightly sweet, making it a popular choice for both raw preparations like sushi and cooked dishes such as grilled or baked salmon fillets. In addition to its delicious taste, Atlantic salmon is also a great source of protein, omega-3 fatty acids, and vitamin D, making it a healthy and nutritious option for any meal. When selecting Atlantic salmon, look for sustainably sourced options to ensure the long-term health of this important aquatic species.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like salmo salar?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy