what is vegan

Is sodium hydrogenated tallow glutamate vegan?

Sodium hydrogenated tallow glutamate is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sodium hydrogenated tallow glutamate?

Sodium hydrogenated tallow glutamate is a flavor enhancer commonly used in the food industry to add savory umami taste to various dishes. It is derived from hydrogenated tallow, a form of animal fat, which is then processed to form glutamic acid. The resulting sodium hydrogenated tallow glutamate powder is a white, crystalline substance that can easily dissolve in water. Despite its animal origin, it is considered safe for consumption by most regulatory agencies. It is often used in processed foods such as chips, canned soups, and instant noodles to enhance their flavor profile.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sodium hydrogenated tallow glutamate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy