what is vegan

Is sodium starch glycolate vegan?

Sodium starch glycolate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sodium starch glycolate?

Sodium starch glycolate is a white, odorless, and tasteless food ingredient commonly used as a disintegrant in pharmaceutical and dietary supplement products. It is derived from potato starch and works by swelling rapidly when it comes into contact with water, making the tablet or capsule to dissolve quickly in the stomach. As a result, sodium starch glycolate helps to improve the bioavailability of active ingredients and enhance their absorption rates. This versatile and safe ingredient is also used in baking and as a binding agent in food products, making it a valuable addition to many formulations.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sodium starch glycolate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy