what is vegan

Is soybeans lecithin vegan?

Soybeans lecithin is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is soybeans lecithin?

Soybean lecithin is a natural emulsifier derived from soybeans that is commonly used as an ingredient in food products. It is a yellowish-brown colored substance that is extracted from the oil of soybeans and is rich in phospholipids, a type of fat that is essential for cell membranes. Soybean lecithin has a neutral taste and can be used as a stabilizer in foods such as chocolate, margarine, and salad dressings. It is also used in the production of pharmaceuticals and dietary supplements. Soybean lecithin is a non-toxic, non-allergenic, and cholesterol-free ingredient that is suitable for both vegetarian and vegan diets.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like soybeans lecithin?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy