what is vegan

Is starch acetate vegan?

Starch acetate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is starch acetate?

Starch acetate is a modified starch that's commonly used as a food thickener and stabilizer. It's produced by mixing corn or potato starch with acetic anhydride in the presence of an acid catalyst. This reaction results in the formation of starch acetate, which has improved water solubility and stability compared to unmodified starch. As a food ingredient, it can enhance the texture and mouthfeel of various products, from baked goods to sauces and dressings. Additionally, it's often used in low-fat or reduced-calorie foods as a fat replacer. Overall, starch acetate is a versatile and functional ingredient that plays an important role in the food industry.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like starch acetate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy