what is vegan

Is stearone vegan?

Stearone is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is stearone?

Stearone is a white, waxy substance derived from stearic acid, a saturated fatty acid found in animal and vegetable fats. It has a faint odor and is insoluble in water but soluble in alcohol and ether. Stearone is commonly used as a flavoring agent in the food industry due to its mild, creamy, and buttery taste. It is also used as an emulsifier, stabilizer, and thickener in a variety of food products, including confectionery, baked goods, and dairy products. Stearone is considered safe for consumption and is approved for use by regulatory bodies, such as the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like stearone?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy