what is vegan

Is stearyl octanoate vegan?

Stearyl octanoate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is stearyl octanoate?

Stearyl octanoate is a food ingredient that is commonly used as an emulsifier and a thickener. It is a combination of stearyl alcohol, a fatty alcohol derived from coconut oil, and octanoic acid, a type of saturated fatty acid found in dairy products. Stearyl octanoate is a white, waxy substance that is insoluble in water and has a melting point of around 50-60Β°C. It is often used in baked goods, confectionery, and processed meats to improve texture, consistency, and shelf life. Due to its unique properties, stearyl octanoate is a popular ingredient in the food industry.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like stearyl octanoate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy