what is vegan

Is stearyl acetate vegan?

Stearyl acetate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is stearyl acetate?

Stearyl acetate is a food ingredient commonly used as a flavoring agent or fragrance in many processed foods and beverages. It is derived from a combination of stearyl alcohol and acetic acid, resulting in a waxy, white substance with a slightly sweet, floral aroma. Stearyl acetate is often added to baked goods, confectioneries, and chewing gum to enhance their flavor and aroma, as well as to cosmetic and personal care products for its emollient properties. While generally regarded as safe by regulatory authorities, high concentrations of stearyl acetate can cause skin irritation in some individuals.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like stearyl acetate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy