what is vegan

Is sunset yellow vegan?

Sunset yellow is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sunset yellow?

Sunset Yellow is a synthetic yellow-orange azo dye commonly used as a food coloring ingredient. It is also known as E110 and is typically added to food products to enhance their visual appeal. Sunset Yellow is often used in combination with other synthetic food colors to achieve a wider range of shades. However, some studies suggest that this food coloring may cause hyperactivity in children and allergic reactions in some individuals. Consequently, it is highly regulated and limited to specific concentrations in food products by many countries' food safety agencies. Despite this, Sunset Yellow remains a popular and widely used food colorant in the food industry.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sunset yellow?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy