what is vegan

Is tragacanth vegan?

Tragacanth is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is tragacanth?

Tragacanth is a natural, odorless, tasteless gum obtained from the dried sap of several species of plants in the genus Astragalus. The gum is composed of complex polysaccharides that are highly soluble in water, forming a viscous, gel-like substance. Tragacanth is often used as a thickener, emulsifier, and stabilizer in food, pharmaceuticals, and cosmetics. Due to its ability to form a gel-like texture, it is commonly used in ice cream, salad dressings, and jellies. Tragacanth has been used for centuries for medicinal purposes, such as treating diarrhea and reducing inflammation. Despite its many uses, tragacanth is relatively rare and expensive due to its limited supply.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like tragacanth?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy