what is vegan

Is vanilj vegan?

Vanilj is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is vanilj?

Vanilj, also known as vanilla, is a popular flavoring ingredient derived from the orchid species Vanilla planifolia. The long, thin, dark-brown pods contain tiny black seeds that impart a sweet, aromatic, and slightly floral flavor to a wide range of dishes. With its delicate flavor and aroma, vanilj is often used to enhance the taste of desserts, baked goods, and beverages, as well as savory dishes like sauces and marinades. It's a versatile ingredient that adds a subtle sweetness and richness to any dish, and is a favorite among food enthusiasts and professional chefs alike. Whether used in its natural form or as an extract, vanilj is an essential ingredient in many cuisines around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like vanilj?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy