what is vegan

Is wholegrain maize flour vegan?

Wholegrain maize flour is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is wholegrain maize flour?

Wholegrain maize flour is a nutritious and flavorful ingredient made from finely ground maize kernels. Maize, also known as corn, is a staple crop in many countries and has been cultivated for thousands of years. The wholegrain variety is made by grinding the entire kernel, including the bran and germ, which provides important nutrients like fiber, vitamins, and minerals. This flour has a slightly sweet, nutty flavor and a slightly yellow color, making it a versatile ingredient for a variety of recipes, from bread and tortillas to pancakes and porridge. It's also gluten-free, making it an excellent choice for those with gluten sensitivities or celiac disease.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like wholegrain maize flour?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy