what is vegan

Are carraghenanes vegan?

Carraghenanes is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is carraghenanes?

Carrageenans are a group of natural polysaccharides extracted from red seaweeds that are commonly used in the food industry as a thickening, stabilizing, and gelling agent. They are highly versatile and can be found in a wide range of products such as dairy products, processed meat, desserts, and even toothpaste. Carrageenans come in different forms depending on the specific type of seaweed and the extraction process used. They are known for their ability to improve texture, provide a smooth mouthfeel, and increase shelf life. Carrageenans are also a popular alternative to gelatin as they are vegan and have a lower environmental impact.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carraghenanes?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy