what is vegan

Are et triphosphates vegan?

Et triphosphates is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is et triphosphates?

Et triphosphates, also known as sodium triphosphate or STPP, is a common food additive used as a preservative, emulsifier, and texturizer. It is a white, odorless powder that dissolves easily in water and is commonly used in seafood, poultry, and meat products to increase their water-holding capacity and prevent spoilage. Et triphosphates are also used in some processed foods, such as cheese and baked goods, to improve their texture and extend their shelf life. Although generally recognized as safe by the FDA, some studies suggest that excessive consumption of et triphosphates may be linked to negative health effects, including hypertension and kidney damage.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like et triphosphates?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy