what is vegan

Are ferments lactics vegan?

Ferments lactics is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? ūüĎá

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

‚ÄĒ Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ūüėĀ"

‚ÄĒ Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

‚ÄĒ D√≥ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ferments lactics?

Ferments lactics refer to a group of microorganisms that convert lactose, a sugar found in milk, into lactic acid through a process known as lacto-fermentation. These microorganisms are commonly used in food production to enhance flavor, texture, and nutritional value. Ferments lactics can be found in a variety of fermented foods, including yogurt, kefir, sauerkraut, kimchi, and pickles. Besides their role in food production, ferments lactics have also been linked to various health benefits, such as improving gut health, boosting the immune system, and reducing inflammation. Incorporating ferments lactics into your diet can be a tasty and healthy way to support your overall well-being.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ferments lactics?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ūüôĆ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy